Powered by OrdaSoft!
Font Size

Horsham Rural City Council has seven Councillors elected every four years by the residents of the municipality. Voting is conducted via postal vote with the most recent election held on 22 October 2016. The Mayor is elected for a one year period each November and is voted in by the Councillors.


The seven Councillors are the elected representatives of all residents and ratepayers across the municipality. They have responsibility for setting the strategic direction for the Horsham Rural City Council, policy development, identifying service standards and monitoring performance across the organisation. Each Councillor has a portfolio of local committees that they attend, providing a valuable link between community and Council.


Council meetings are held on the first and third Monday of every month (excluding January) at the Civic Centre Municipal Offices in Horsham, commencing at 5.30pm. Meetings are open to the general public and new employees are encouraged to attend to familiarise themselves with Council operations.

Details about meeting dates are advertised in local newspapers, on Council's Facebook page and on this website. Copies of the agenda for each meeting of Council can also be found on the website at http://www.hrcc.vic.gov.au/council/council-meetings

icon council